Monday, October 8, 2012

Book Spotlight: The Daughters of Bainbridge House Series by Laurie Alice Eakes

Hi Everyone!

I wanted to take a few minutes today to spotlight a series I've been reading, The Daughters of Bainbrigde House by Laurie Alice Eakes. This series is set during the British Regency period, which occurred in England from 1811-1820. While the secular romance market is filled with Regency Romance writers such as Julia Quinn, Loretta Chase, Mary Jo Putney, Jo Beverly, Eloisa James, and the list goes on, the inspirational fiction market has seen only a handful of authors write about this period.

Julie Klassen is one of the more recognized inspirational Regency authors. Her books have won numerous awards and hit the Christian Booksellers Association's bestseller list. Laurie Alice Eakes is another inspirational Regency author whose books are quickly gaining in popularity.

In the Daughters of Bainbridge House Series, the three heroines are sisters, and also daughters of a rather controlling and politically ambitious baron, who manages to muck around in his daughter's love lives a little too often. Here's more about the books:

Book 1: A Necessary Deception 

 When young widow Lady Lydia Gale helps a French prisoner obtain parole, she never dreamed he would turn up in her parlor. But just as the London Season is getting under way, there he is, along with a few other questionable personages. While she should be focused on helping her headstrong younger sister prepare for her entrĂ© into London society, Lady Gale finds herself preoccupied with the mysterious Frenchman. Is he a spy or a suitor? Can she trust him? Or is she putting her family in danger?

Readers will enjoy being drawn into this world of elegance and intrigue, balls and masquerades. Author Laurie Alice Eakes whisks readers through the drawing rooms of London amid the sound of rustling gowns on this exciting quest to let the past stay in the past and let love guide the future.

Book 2: A Flight of Fancy

Cassandra Bainbridge may be a bit of a bluestocking, but when Geoffrey Giles is near, love seems a fine alternative to passion for Greek and the physics of flight. With his dashing good looks and undying devotion to her, the earl of Whittaker sets Cassandra's heart racing with his very presence. It seems his only flaw is his distaste for ballooning, the obsession that consumes so much of her thoughts.

When a terrible accident compels her to end her betrothal, Cassandra heads for the country to recover from both her injuries and her broken heart. With time on her hands and good friends to help her, she pursues her love for ballooning and envisions a future for herself as a daring aeronaut. But when Lord Whittaker slips back into her life, will she have to choose between him and her dream?

Book 3: A Reluctant Courtship

A Reluctant Courtship releases in October 1213 and will tell the story of the youngest and most beautiful Bainbridge daughter, Honore. Honore, for all her beauty though, seems rather cursed in love and always tangles with the wrong men. It will be refreshing to see her get things right when she finally has her own story!

This week, at Regency Reflections (where I blog once a month  with the author of the Bainbridge House series), we're having a giant party to celebrate the release of A Flight of Fancy. The author is giving away a Regency gift basket complete with tea, cookies, and even an amazon gift card. To enter the giveaway, you'll need to participate in the fun little Regency quiz we're giving. So if you've got a few minutes, head on over and join the party!

No comments:

Post a Comment